JUN 8–SEP 30, 2018


The 2018 Rockford Midwestern is the 75th presentation of Rockford Art Museum's juried exhibition, which began in 1913 as an annual showcase of local artists, then expanded eligibility and was known as the Stateline Vicinity Show through 1998. Now a biennial show that surveys new work by contemporary artists across the Midwest, the competition was open to original artwork in any medium created since the last biennial by residents of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, or Wisconsin.

Juror Aron Packer selected 68 paintings, prints, drawings, photographs, sculptures, mixed media works, and more by 69 artists for this year’s Rockford Midwestern Biennial. Packer is a longtime Chicago gallerist known for curating compelling shows in various genres. Awards were presented to Jennifer Bock-Nelson (Best of Show), Brent Cole (Juror’s Choice), and Glen C. Davies (Juror’s Choice). The 2018 Dean Alan Olson Purchase Award was presented to Mary Porterfield.

The Rockford Midwestern Biennial is organized by Carrie Johnson and juried by Aron Packer. This exhibition and its related educational programming are sponsored by the Dean Alan Olson Foundation and Women’s Art Board; and partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency and by the Armer Ahlstrand Charitable Foundation.

Juried by Aron Packer

Scott Anderson (Hartford, IN) • Stephen Warde Anderson (Rockford, IL) • Esther Aron (Bull Valley, IL) • Heather Baker (Rochelle, IL) • Dennis Bayuzick (Kenosha, WI) • Victoria Bein (Edgerton, WI) • Denise Bellezzo (Naperville, IL) • Jennifer Bock-Nelson (Quincy, IL) • Glenn Bodish (Dixon, IL) • Judith Brandon (Cleveland, OH) • Daniel A. Brinkmeier (Mount Carroll, IL) • Gloria DeFilipps Brush (Duluth, MN) • Benjamin Calvert (Villa Park, IL) • Amy Carani (Monroe, WI) • Carrie Carlson (Orland Park, IL) • Jodie Chilcote (Spring Arbor, MI) • Brent Cole (Muncie, IN) • Sara Peak Convery (Chicago, IL) • Frances Cox (Evanston, IL) • Ilene Curts (Mason, MI) • Susan Czechowski (Dunlap, IL) • Glen C. Davies (Urbana, IL) • Anita Dawson (Columbus, OH) • James Deeb (Evanston, IL) • Laurel Fletcher (Madison, WI) • Judith Roston Freilich (Glencoe, IL) • Shelley Gilchrist (Evanston, IL) • Lisa Goesling (Palatine, IL) • Laura Gomel (Loves Park, IL) • Jessica Gondek (Montgomery, IL) • Jennifer Halvorson (Noblesville, IN) • Collin Harrison (Rockford, IL) • Jennifer Johansson (Carbondale, IL) • Carol Kazwick (Downers Grove, IL) • Mark Keffer (Bedford, OH) • Letha Kelsey (Lodi, WI) • Jenny Knavel (Rockford, IL) • Roland Kulla (Chicago, IL) • Joe Lauer (Chicago, IL) • Jeanne Ludeke (Rockford, IL) • Harold Martin (Galena, IL) • Nate Mathews (Bartlett, IL) • Tom McHale (Rockford, IL) • Christine Miller (Whitewater, WI) • Stephen Moss (Hammond, IN) • Ahavani Mullen (Chicago, IL) • John Nativio (Cleveland, OH) • Jack Nixon (Wilmette, IL) • Ari Norris (DeKalb, IL) • Raul Ortiz (Chicago, IL) • Louise Pappageorge (Chicago, IL) • Mary Porterfield (Chicago, IL) • Emily Rapport (Chicago, IL) • Ann Rosen (Highland Park, IL) • Sheri Rush (Chicago, IL) • David Shechter (Chicago, IL) • Judy Lipman Shechter (Chicago, IL) • Mary Ellen Sisulak (Ellison Bay, WI) • John Stanicek (Aurora, IL) • Alfred Stark (DeKalb, IL) • Sharon Swidler (Skokie, IL) • Kathy Weaver (Chicago, IL) • Joan Webster-Vore (Hudson, IA) • Garth Wemmer (Chicago, IL) • John Wemmer (Loves Park, IL) • Margaret Whiting (Waterloo, IA)